The Digital Vibes


Let’s Talk Trends
July 25, 2008, 3:35 pm
Filed under: Crowd powered, Social Media, Social networks | Tags: , ,

Some years ago, a lady from Hong Kong described to me how flat sandals were really “on trend” in Hong Kong. Apparently “on trend” was this big buzzword in Hong Kong then, to describe what were the trendiest things in town. I thought it was yet another quirky trait of a Hong Konger and quelled the bells ringing in my head to correct that grammar.

According to Techcrunch in its introduction of Edopter, “social trendcasting” is a concept that attempts to combine crowd-sourcing with internet buzz to predict new trends, which is precisely what Edopter aims to do. Edopter is similar to another website that I’ve bookmarked sometime back – Trendhunter magazine.

As competitive beings I guess we all want to be at the forefront of the latest and greatest, to be an evangelist leading legions to the next big thing. It is, after all, always gratifying to say “I was there first”.

Watch out as social trendcasting, in itself, emerges a trend. Don’t say I didn’t tell you *wink*


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment